3 Reasons Why Traveling With Your Spouse Should be a Priority

“We really want to travel and explore before we settle down and have kids.”

Two years later: pregnant and haven’t taken a trip beyond their parents house.

Too many young married couples profess the want to travel and don’t prioritize it. As a married couple, our favorite memories and best moments are almost all from traveling. We absolutely love to travel. We love seeing new landscapes and exploring places we’ve never been. Here’s a few reasons why you should make traveling a priority:

IMG_0071

Timmy and I at the top of the waterfall at Yosemite

1. Traveling Creates a Relational Bond

When getting together with friends, old stories constantly resurface as you all remember the shared experiences together. This creates a deeper bond, a relational bond with someone who understands you. They understand the situation, experience, and what emotions you experienced during it. You are on a new level with that person.

Even more important is reinforcing that bond with your spouse.

As Timmy and I hiked up the Upper Falls at Yosemite during the summer, we constantly had to stop and rest. I would be too tired so he would wait for me, he would be too tired so I would wait for him. When we finally got to the top and realized that the massive waterfall we saw in the beginning was falling beneath us, we felt a sense of triumph that I can’t begin to describe. We shared the same pain on the journey and the same victory in the end. That moment came from a spur of the moment adventure trip we decided to take. Our experience bonded us more deeply.

2. Traveling Inspires Change

Each city has a specific “personality” based on it’s population. Even within America, each city and neighborhood differs based on the people who comprise it. Every place we travel, we are able to observe cultures that are different than our own. Timmy and I love to note the differences and analyze why they do things a certain way. When we understand the why behind their actions, we are able to evaluate if the value or idea behind the why is something that we want our own family to value. Then, we are able to take the points that we like and add it into our own family culture.

For example: Growing up, my family was great at sitting around the table together for meals. We mostly spent time bonding together in our house or in our backyard. Living in San Francisco, I found that the active lifestyle was a great compliment to my upbringing. In my new family with Timmy, we want to go out to parks, hikes, and be active outside of our home. We want to instill my upbringing with intentional time around the table, but transfer the idea to apply to an active, outdoor lifestyle like what is so prominent in San Francisco.

IMG_0534

 A beautiful hike by the ocean in Portland, OR

3. Traveling Broadens Your Worldview 

I was raised in the South, attended college in the Midwest with some good friends from the East Coast, and moved to the West Coast after getting married. I’ve gotten my share of the different regions across America. I can tell you that the prejudices are real and the ignorance is too. This isn’t directed at one particular region: pride runs deeply everywhere I’ve been. Traveling all over has opened my eyes to understand the opposite side of what I believe. It hasn’t changed my worldview; it has broadened it.

There are conservatives who are the most kind, loving people you’ll meet. There are conservatives that are rude and uncaring. There are liberals who are the most generous, and personable people in the area. There are liberals who are overbearing and selfish. I have great friends in California who voted for Hillary. I have great friends in South Carolina who voted for Trump. I love all of them. I’ve heard both sides of the arguments. I have my own view, but I understand both.

Traveling forces conversations with people that Timmy and I don’t normally talk to, which shows us different stances on issues from passionate people. It opens the door for us to experience new ideas and new sights that we wouldn’t experience at home. It forces us to have friendships with people who have different views. It teaches us to care for people that we don’t always agree with.

This ultimately creates a stronger relationship that enables us to love more effectively in our community.

 

Leave a Reply

